Text Only
Accessibility Options
Default Text Size icon Large Text Size icon Largest Text Size icon
Set your Postcode This will personalise content such as news & events with the latest from your area.
Skip Content

PCC To Reward Neighbourhood Heroes at Annual Community Safety Awards


The second Cleveland Community Safety Awards which take place tonight (6 November) recognise the efforts of everyone involved in partnership working within our communities.

Those who are to be rewarded for their contributions to local community safety have been nominated by members of the public and include Neighbourhood Police Officers, Policing Teams, Community Support Officers, Volunteers and Community Minded Businesses.

The PCC will also honour a number of Independent Custody Visitors, who have served this voluntary position for over five years, with long service awards.

The nominees in all 16 categories are:


Neighbourhood Police Officer of the Year

  • Hartlepool - PC Stephanie Button
  • Middlesbrough – PC Matthew Inness
  • Redcar and Cleveland – Sgt Stephen Chambers
  • Stockton – PC Darren Beer

Neighbourhood Police Community Support Officer of the Year

  • Hartlepool - PCSO Andrew Douglas
  • Middlesbrough – PCSO Simon French
  • Redcar and Cleveland – PCSO Nicola Rothwell
  • Stockton - PCSO Michael Beals

Neighbourhood Team of the Year

  • Hartlepool – Burn Valley INT (Integrated Neighbourhood Team)
  • Middlesbrough – Operation Boost
  • Redcar and Cleveland – Eston INT (Integrated Neighbourhood Team)
  • Stockton – Billingham INT (Integrated Neighbourhood Team)

Neighbourhood Special Constable of the Year

  • Stockton - Special Chief Inspector Kathryn Dack

Neighbourhood Volunteer of the Year (Police Volunteer)

  • Stockton – George Evans

Neighbourhood Officer Best at Tackling Anti-Social Behaviour

  • Middlesbrough – PC Christopher Swales
  • Redcar and Cleveland – PCSO Kay Croft
  • Stockton - PC Mark Kenley

Neighbourhood Detective of the Year

  • Middlesbrough – DC Matthew Homan
  • Redcar and Cleveland - DC Paul Matthews
  • Stockton – DC Andrew Menzies

Neighbourhood Watch Coordinator of the Year

  • Middlesbrough - Derek Grosvenor
  • Redcar and Cleveland - Marilyn Marshall
  • Stockton – Sam Millward-Gibbons

Housing Provider Contribution to Tackling Antisocial Behaviour

  • Middlesbrough – Natalie Usai - Thirteen
  • Redcar and Cleveland – Mike Peel – Coast & Country
  • Stockton – Richard Parks - Thirteen

Community Safety Team Contribution to Tackling Antisocial Behaviour

  • Hartlepool – Hartlepool Allotment Team
  • Middlesbrough – Middlesbrough Neighbourhood Safety Team
  • Redcar and Cleveland – Amy Kenny
  • Stockton – Louise Crisp

Community Volunteer Champion (Community Volunteer)

  • Hartlepool – Mary Beck
  • Middlesbrough – Cheryl Dixon
  • Redcar and Cleveland - Jennifer Jarvis
  • Stockton – Graham Newton

Community Minded Business

  • Middlesbrough – L&D Stores, Hemlington
  • Redcar and Cleveland – Sainsburys, Bankfields

Outstanding Support to a Victim

  • Hartlepool – Lorna Hilton
  • Middlesbrough – Sam Powell
  • Stockton - Beatrice Toulmin

Young Community Volunteer Champion

  • Middlesbrough - Caitlin Boys and Abbie Rodgers
  • Stockton – Emma Robinson

Independent Custody Visitors - Long Service Awards

  • Stan Dale (19 years)
  • Tom Boumphrey (15 years)
  • Elizabeth Everson (15 years)
  • Michael Watson (15 years)
  • Angela Whittaker (7 years)

Outstanding Contribution to Policing

  • Supt Stephen Kielty


The awards will be announced at an invite only event in Hartlepool College of Further Education from 6.00pm and are kindly sponsored by Thirteen Housing Group and Coast & Country Housing.

Posted on Thursday 6th November 2014
Share this
Powered by Contensis