Text Only
Accessibility Options
Default Text Size icon Large Text Size icon Largest Text Size icon
Set your Postcode This will personalise content such as news & events with the latest from your area.
Skip Content

Winners Announced at 2014 Cleveland Community Safety Awards

Caitlin Boys and Abbie Rodgers - Young Community Volunteer Champions

Young Community Volunteer Champions, Caitlin Boys and Abbie Rodgers

The 2014 Cleveland Community Safety Awards took place last night (6 November) to celebrate those who have made an outstanding contribution to their local community.

Nominations were put forward from members of the community for various awards including Neighbourhood Police Officer of the Year, Neighbourhood Police Community Support Officer of the Year, Neighbourhood Volunteer of the Year and Neighbourhood Team of the Year.

The awards took place at Hartlepool College of Further Education on Thursday, 6th November, and were sponsored by Thirteen Housing Group and Coast & Country Housing.

Police and Crime Commissioner for Cleveland, Barry Coppinger, said: "The awards give us the opportunity to recognise those that have made outstanding contributions in their communities and for us to come together to celebrate their achievements.

"I am pleased to have been able to present some of the awards to those officers and teams that keep our communities safe."

Deputy Chief Constable Iain Spittal said: "Yesterday evening we saw a number of individuals and teams who have been highlighted by the people of Cleveland for the service that they provide. I am delighted to be able to celebrate their successes with them.

"As a Force we strive to serve our communities as best we can, and it makes me very proud that we have officers and staff who have been nominated for doing such a good job of it."

Darren Hankey, Principal of Hartlepool College of Further Education, said: "We were honoured to have been asked to host the awards and some of the achievements were amazing – all of the nominees and award winners were a credit to the communities they serve."

Iain Sim, Chief Executive of Coast & Country, said: "We are delighted to be sponsoring this year’s Cleveland Community Safety Awards.  These awards highlight and recognise the dedication and contribution of our officers and the joint working which is key to tackling antisocial behaviour that we know can have a detrimental effect on the quality of life for our residents. I am also thrilled that Coast & Country were again nominated for the award of ‘housing provider contribution to tackling antisocial behaviour’, which demonstrates our ongoing commitment to work with our partners to help keep our communities safe."

Category winners and runners up were:

  • Neighbourhood Police Officer of the Year: PC Stephanie Button (Hartlepool)
    Runners up: PC Matthew Inness (Middlesbrough), Sgt Stephen Chambers (Redcar and Cleveland) and PC Darren Beer (Stockton)
  • Neighbourhood PCSO of the Year: PCSO Simon French (Middlesbrough)
    Runners up: PCSO Andrew Douglas (Hartlepool), PCSO Nicola Rothwell (Redcar and Cleveland) and PCSO Michael Beals (Stockton)
  • Neighbourhood Team of the Year: Billingham and Norton Integrated Neighbourhood Team
    Runners up: Eston Integrated Neighbourhood Team, Operation Boost (Middlesbrough town centre) and Burn Valley Integrated Neighbourhood Team
  • Neighbourhood Detective of the Year: DC Paul Matthews (Redcar and Cleveland)
    Runners up: DC Andrew Menzies (Stockton) and DC Matthew Homan (Middlesbrough)
  • Neighbourhood Officer Best at Tackling ASB: PC Christopher Swales (Middlesbrough)
    Runners up: PCSO Kay Croft (Redcar and Cleveland) and PC Mark Kenley (Stockton)
  • Neighbourhood Special Constable of the Year: Special Chief Inspector Kathryn Dack (Stockton)
  • Neighbourhood Volunteer of the Year: George Evans
  • Housing Provider Contribution to Tackling Antisocial Behaviour: Natalie Usai, Thirteen (Middlesbrough)
    Runners up: Mike Peel, Coast and Country (Redcar and Cleveland) and Richard Parks, Thirteen (Stockton)
  • Community Safety Team Contribution to Tackling Antisocial Behaviour: Middlesbrough Neighbourhood Safety Team
    Runners up: Louise Crisp (Stockton), Amy Kenny (Redcar and Cleveland) and Hartlepool Allotment Team
  • Community Minded Business: Sainsbury’s, Bankfields (Redcar and Cleveland)
    Runner up: L&D Stores, Hemlington (Middlesbrough)
  • Outstanding Support to a Victim Year: Lorna Hilton (Hartlepool)
    Runners up: Sam Powell (Middlesbrough) and Beatrice Toulmin (Stockton)
  • Community Volunteer Champion: Cheryl Dixon (Middlesbrough)
    Runners up: Mary Beck (Hartlepool), Jennifer Jarvis (Redcar and Cleveland) and Graham Newton (Stockton)
  • Young Community Volunteer Champion: Caitlin Boys and Abbie Rodgers (Middlesbrough)
    Runner up: Emma Robinson (Stockton)
  • Neighbourhood Watch Coordinator of the Year: Marilyn Marshall (Redcar and Cleveland)
    Runners up: Derek Grosvenor (Middlesbrough) and Sam Millward-Gibbons (Stockton)
  • Independent Custody Visitors Long Service Awards:
    Tom Boumphrey – 15 years service
    Stan Dale – 19 years service
    Elizabeth Everson – 15 years service
    Michael Watson – 15 years service
    Angela Whittaker – 7 years service
  • Outstanding Contribution to Policing
    Supt Stephen Kielty

Click here to view a photo gallery of winners and nominees from the awards evening.


Posted on Friday 7th November 2014
Share this
Powered by Contensis