Text Only
Accessibility Options
Default Text Size icon Large Text Size icon Largest Text Size icon
Set your Postcode This will personalise content such as news & events with the latest from your area.
Skip Content

Heroes of community safety recognised at PCC's Community Safety Awards


Outstanding Commitment to Supporting Victims of Sexual Abuse winner Sue Smith with PCC Barry Coppinger

Cleveland Police officers, staff and members of the public were honoured at an awards ceremony last week for their commitment to community safety.

Cleveland Community Safety Awards took place on Wednesday 22nd November at Middlesbrough College STEM Centre and was hosted by Police and Crime Commissioner Barry Coppinger.

The awards are an annual celebration of the community safety achievements of those in the police, housing organisations, community safety partnerships, and the private and voluntary sectors.

Sue Smith, Manager of Teesside Sexual Assault Referral Centre, was winner of the Outstanding Commitment to Supporting Victims of Sexual Abuse award for dedicating 25 years of her life to supporting vulnerable victims of sexual abuse.

Another winner on the night was Shahda Khan from Middlesbrough Council, who took home the award for Outstanding Services to Community Safety for her commitment to community cohesion and service on Cleveland Police’s Strategic Independent Advisory Group.

Police and Crime Commissioner for Cleveland, Barry Coppinger said: “The Community Safety Awards were particularly special for me this year, as it fell on the day I reached five years as Police and Crime Commissioner.

“During my time as PCC, I’ve heard many incredible stories about people going the extra mile to help keep communities safe and this year was no different. We heard many moving and inspirational stories of people doing their upmost to protect communities and prevent crime.

“Both Shahda and Sue who received special awards this year have dedicated their careers to making a difference to the Cleveland area and for that we should all be thankful. Congratulations to all nominees and winners.”

Chief Constable Iain Spittal added: “These awards are a great opportunity to thank those in our communities for their on-going dedication and commitment.  I congratulate each and every winner for their incredible achievements.”

A full list of winners is shown below:

Police Officer of the Year – PC Jason Bowes

Police Community Support Officer of the Year - PCSO Paul Walker

Police Team of the Year - Cyber Crime Team

Detective of the Year – PC Leigh Hindle

Officer Best at Tackling Antisocial Behaviour – Inspector Rob Jones

Housing Provider Contribution to Tackling Antisocial Behaviour – Kendra Hunt, Thirteen Housing Group

Community Safety Contribution to Tackling Antisocial Behaviour - Chris Dunwell, Stockton Borough Council

Outstanding Contribution to Prevention – Thorndyke Avenue Project

Community Volunteer Champion – Ley Miller, Trans Aware

Young Community Volunteer – Cleveland Police Cadet Programme

Special Constable of the Year – Special Chief Inspector Kathryn Dack & Special Sergeant Graham Hansford

Police Volunteer of the Year – Karel Simpson

Community Minded Business – Home Instead Senior Care

Outstanding Support to a Victim – DC Kay McGeehan

Outstanding Services to Community Safety – Shahda Khan

Outstanding Commitment to Supporting Victims of Sexual Abuse – Sue Smith

A full list of nominees and citations can be found on the PCC’s website: http://www.cleveland.pcc.police.uk/Take-Part/Cleveland-Community-Safety-Awards-2017-Winners.aspx


Posted on Thursday 30th November 2017
Share this
Powered by Contensis